McGloin wins Burlsworth Trophy

Penn State quarterback Matt McGloin now has some hardware to go with his outstanding 2012 season, as the senior captain was honored with the Burlsworth Trophy on Monday. The award is given to "college football's most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on."

McGloin and Stankiewitch were both honored on Monday.

The Scranton, Pa., native led Penn State to an 8-4 season while breaking several school records along the way. McGloin finished his season completing 270 of 446 pass attempts for 3,266 yards -- all single-season school records -- while throwing 24 touchdown passes to just five interceptions. His 24 touchdown passes this season tied Daryll Clark's output in 2009.

He also added five rushing touchdowns to his total.

McGloin finished his career as the all-time leader in touchdown passes with 46, second in yardage with 6,390, second in completions with 513 and second in attempts with 894.

Stankiewitch a finalist for the Rimington

Also announced on Monday, senior center Matt Stankiewitch was named as one of six finalists for the Rimington Award, given to the nation's top center.

Stankiewitch is joined on the list by Mario Benavides (Louisville), Braxston Cave (Notre Dame), Dalton Freeman (Clemson), Khaled Holmes (USC) and Barrett Jones (Alabama.)

The fifth-year senior was a first team All-Big Ten selection in 2012.

"It's a great honor to be a finalist for the Rimington Trophy," he said in a statement to Penn State Athletics. "It's a great testament to the guys who play next me, particularly John Urschel, since we have a lot of combination blocking. I thought our offensive line had a very good year under Coach (Mac) McWhorter."

Penn State's last Rimington Award winner was A.Q. Shipley in 2008.

Skip To Comments

Already have an account? Sign In